Logo

Warmth, wellness, well-being.
Our sauna world.

Experience the wonderful world of sauna in the three large sauna areas of the Claudius Therme. Whether a mild herbal steam bath, the panorama sauna with a view of Cologne Cathedral, the Finnish saunas, the Seraglio Bath with beauty treatments, the Russian banya or the particularly hot earth wall sauna with fireplace, every visitor to our sauna area will find the right form of relief that will do them the power of good.

The range of services on offer is rounded off by various rituals and infusions being poured on hot stones (Aufguss = literally "onpouring") e.g. the salt and honey Aufguss, the banya ritual, the fruit Aufguss and a whole lot more. For the well-being of women, we also offer an exclusive programme, such as the ladies only sauna, the wellness Aufguss for women, or the exclusive Ladies Day, which takes place in the indoor area of the sauna facility every Monday (apart from on public holidays and during the Christmas holidays).

Explore our sauna world

The classic saunas of European bathing culture

people have been aware of their healthy effect on the body’s metabolism and immune system for centuries. There are two Finnish saunas in the indoor area of the Claudius Therme. Fin I is a women-only sauna and reserved for the sole use of female guests.

Temperature: Fin I 70°C | Fin II 90°C | Humidity: 10% | Recommended duration of stay: 12–15 min.

Attractions of the sauna area

The healthy effects of regularly going to the sauna are widely known these days. The heat gets the circulation going, improves the circulation of the blood in the skin and stimulates the body’s immune system. But above all, the changing stimuli have a relaxing effect and foster mental well-being. To ensure that every visitor feels completely at ease here, we have drawn up a small guide on sauna etiquette for when you visit the Claudius Therme.

Banya sauna

This is the traditional bathing house of the Russians. Originally a place where people would wash themselves, the banya in Russian villages evolved into a popular place of rest and relaxation. Our banya was originally built in Siberia and rebuilt here in the Sauna Village, complete with pine logs and taiga moss. In the Siberian bathing house, birch water is used to create steam, which, thanks to its healing properties, has an extremely beneficial effect on one’s body and skin. A lower temperature and high level of humidity support the regenerative effect.

Temperature: 70°C | Humidity: 30% | Recommended duration of stay: 15–20 min.

Yoga courses

Our yoga courses, with changing themes, are highly popular. The courses take place on the Women-Only Day, Mondays from 5.30 p.m. to 5.55 p.m. and from 6 p.m. to 6.25 p.m. in the upper relaxation room with a view of Cologne Cathedral. They are free of charge. Registration is not required. The different themes are announced on the day.

Earth wall sauna

The earth wall sauna is the warmest and cosiest place in the Claudius Therme: lit by the fireplace, it envelops visitors in a pleasant atmosphere. The relatively high temperatures are very easy to tolerate due to the low level of humidity.

Temperature: 90–100°C | Humidity: 10% | Recommended duration of stay: 10–15 Min.

Banya sauna

This is the traditional bathing house of the Russians. Originally a place where people would wash themselves, the banya in Russian villages evolved into a popular place of rest and relaxation. Our banya was originally built in Siberia and rebuilt here in the Sauna Village, complete with pine logs and taiga moss. In the Siberian bathing house, birch water is used to create steam, which, thanks to its healing properties, has an extremely beneficial effect on one’s body and skin. A lower temperature and high level of humidity support the regenerative effect.

Temperature: 70°C | Humidity: 30% | Recommended duration of stay: 15–20 min.

Yoga courses

Our yoga courses, with changing themes, are highly popular. The courses take place on the Women-Only Day, Mondays from 5.30 p.m. to 5.55 p.m. and from 6 p.m. to 6.25 p.m. in the upper relaxation room with a view of Cologne Cathedral. They are free of charge. Registration is not required. The different themes are announced on the day.

Earth wall sauna

The earth wall sauna is the warmest and cosiest place in the Claudius Therme: lit by the fireplace, it envelops visitors in a pleasant atmosphere. The relatively high temperatures are very easy to tolerate due to the low level of humidity.

Temperature: 90–100°C | Humidity: 10% | Recommended duration of stay: 10–15 Min.

Seraglio Bath

Ideal for beauty care, the metabolism, detoxification and silky soft skin. Under the guidance of a staff member, you first apply a purifying pack in the warm tiled bath. This is then followed by a 25-minute long herbal steam bath, and while you enjoy a cup of tea, the pack retains its smooth consistency. You can massage your body in circular motions for a great exfoliating effect. After rinsing yourself off, you can rub some rich skin oil onto your body. You can choose between the Classic Seraglio Bath (€13) and the Premium Seraglio Bath (€18).

Kelo sauna

This traditional sauna building was built using pine logs that are up to 800 years old. The sauna room itself generally extends over three levels around a large ceramic sauna stove and is pleasantly warm. This Finnish sauna also has a small grotto where you can sit as well as a room with a fireplace.

Temperature: 70–80°C | Humidity: 20% | Recommended duration of stay: 10–15 min.

Women-only sauna

Finnish Sauna I is a sauna that is exclusively for the use of women. It is located inside our sauna facility. We would like to give women the chance to enjoy their visit to the sauna in a completely undisturbed atmosphere.

Seraglio Bath

Ideal for beauty care, the metabolism, detoxification and silky soft skin. Under the guidance of a staff member, you first apply a purifying pack in the warm tiled bath. This is then followed by a 25-minute long herbal steam bath, and while you enjoy a cup of tea, the pack retains its smooth consistency. You can massage your body in circular motions for a great exfoliating effect. After rinsing yourself off, you can rub some rich skin oil onto your body. You can choose between the Classic Seraglio Bath (€13) and the Premium Seraglio Bath (€18).

Kelo sauna

This traditional sauna building was built using pine logs that are up to 800 years old. The sauna room itself generally extends over three levels around a large ceramic sauna stove and is pleasantly warm. This Finnish sauna also has a small grotto where you can sit as well as a room with a fireplace.

Temperature: 70–80°C | Humidity: 20% | Recommended duration of stay: 10–15 min.

Women-only sauna

Finnish Sauna I is a sauna that is exclusively for the use of women. It is located inside our sauna facility. We would like to give women the chance to enjoy their visit to the sauna in a completely undisturbed atmosphere.

Our Aufgüsse

Salt and honey Aufguss

In our kelo sauna, we offer visitors to enjoy a salt and honey “Aufguss”. This means that essential oils are poured onto hot rocks. The honey Aufguss pampers the skin. After a brief pre-warming phase, you rub honey into your skin. The honey has a cleansing, firming and nourishing effect and stimulates the metabolism. If you go for the salt option, the body is rubbed down with coarse Dead Sea salt. This rubbing has a disinfecting, sweat-inducing and detoxifying effect. The coarse grains of salt exfoliate your skin. After the Aufguss, you can refresh yourself by rubbing yourself down with ice.

Place: kelo sauna (Sauna Village) | Duration: 15–20 min.

Fruit Aufguss

Healthy, fruity refreshment is provided after water has been poured onto the hot rocks (the “Aufguss”, which literally means “onpouring”). Vitamins and trace elements give you a new energy boost. Afterwards, if you like, you can rub yourself down with cooling flake ice to invigorate yourself.

Place: Rose Sauna (Rose Terraces) | Duration: 12 min.

Wellness Aufguss

The wellness Aufguss for our female guests is gentle and relaxing. At a moderate 70°C, chiefly sweet, fresh fragrances are poured onto the hot rocks (the “Aufguss”). The gentle flapping of towels accompanied by quiet and soothing music accentuate this mild Aufguss (for organisational reasons, a male member of staff may have to carry out the wellness Aufguss).

Place: Rose Sauna (Rose Terraces) | Duration: 10–12 min.

Venik Aufguss

With a bundle of birch twigs known as the “venik”, birch water is sprinkled onto the hot stones (this is known as the “Aufguss”). This releases the wonderful aroma of the birch leaves, filling the banya with their typical fragrance. Thanks to the high level of humidity and the relatively mild temperature, this Aufguss is an exceptional experience.

Place: Banya (Sauna Village) | Duration: 15 min.

Banya ritual

In the 1st phase of the banya ritual, warm air is fanned towards you with a bundle of birch twigs known as the “venik”. This is followed by a cooling-off phase with Siberian tea. When you go back into the sauna, your body is gently beaten with the venik. A refreshing rub-down with ice rounds off this phase. The final phase is then meant to relax you: you will be gently rubbed down with the venik. Finally, you walk around outside to cool off, take a cold shower and then rest for a while.

Place: Banya (Sauna Village) | Duration: approx. 60 min. | Daily at 8 p.m.

Price: €16.00 p.p. incl. provision of a sauna towel

Ayurvedic Oil Magic

The Oil Magic is a small group ceremony held in in the Seraglio Bath. At the beginning, you will be given various oils, which are quickly absorbed by the skin when you rub them in. While you enjoy a hot cup of tea, you will be enveloped in aromatic steam. After 10-15 minutes, you will start to slowly sweat the oil out again, thus gently cleansing and nourishing your skin. Several rounds of towel flapping and a refreshing Kneipp shower at the end of the ceremony remove the remaining traces of oil and get your circulation going.

Place: Seraglio Bath (indoor area) |Duration: approx. 20 min. | Price: €4.00 p.p.

Registration is only possible at the bar of the restaurant in the bathing area

Ottoman Aufguss

Experience this unique Aufguss (or “onpouring”) in the stunning Seraglio Bath. After a few bouts of beneficial steam with essential oils (the Aufguss). our member of staff will give you some coffee cream, which is an intensive exfoliating and moisturising mixture that you rub onto your body. Several rounds of towel flapping and a refreshing Kneipp shower round off this Aufguss. The skin is supplied with minerals and oxygen, while at the same time being exfoliated; the body’s immune system is given a boost.

Place: Seraglio Bath (indoor area) | Duration: 15 min.

Registration is only possible at the bar of the restaurant in the bathing area.

Logo

Wärme, Wellness, Wohlfühlen.
Unsere Saunalandschaft.

Erleben Sie die Welt des Saunierens in den drei großen Saunabereichen der Claudius Therme. Ob mildes Kräuterdampfbad, Panorama-Sauna mit Domblick, Finnische Saunen, Serailbad mit Beauty-Anwendungen, russische Banja oder heiße Erdwall-Sauna mit Kamin: In der Claudius Therme findet jeder Saunabesucher die für ihn individuell richtige Wohltat.

Abgerundet wird das Angebot durch vielfältige Aufgüsse und Rituale, wie z.B. den Salz-Honig-Aufguss, das Banja-Ritual, den Aufguss mit Früchten und vieles mehr. Für das weibliche Wohl bieten wir zusätzlich ein exklusives Programm wie die reine Damen-Sauna, den Wellness-Aufguss für Damen oder den exklusiven Damentag, der immer montags (außer an Feiertagen und in den Weihnachtsferien) im Innenbereich der Saunaanlage stattfindet.

Entdecken Sie die Saunalandschaft

Die Klassiker der Badekultur

Seit Jahrhunderten kennt man ihre gesunde Wirkung auf Stoffwechsel und Abwehrkräfte. Im Innenbereich der Claudius Therme finden Sie zwei Finnische Saunen. Die Fin I ist als reine Damensauna den weiblichen Gästen vorbehalten.

Temperatur: Fin I 70°C | Fin II 90°C | Luftfeuchtigkeit: 10% | Empfohlene Dauer: 12-15 Min.

Attraktionen des Saunabereiches

Die gesunde Wirkung des regelmäßigen Saunierens ist heute allgemein bekannt. Die Hitze bringt den Kreislauf auf Trab, fördert die Hautdurchblutung und regt Immunzellen an. Vor allem aber entspannt der Wechselreiz und fördert so die innere Ruhe. Damit alle sich rundum wohlfühlen, haben wir einen kleinen Saunaknigge erstellt, für den Aufenthalt in der Claudius Therme.

Banja

Das traditionelle Badehaus der Russen: Die ursprüngliche Waschgelegenheit in russischen Dörfern entwickelte sich zum beliebten Erholungsort. Unsere Banja stammt originalgetreu aus Sibirien und wurde hier im Saunadorf samt Kiefernstämmen und Taigamoos wieder aufgestellt. Im sibirischen Badehaus wird Birkenwasser verdampft, das durch seine heilenden Eigenschaften eine äußerst wohltuende Wirkung auf Haut und Körper hat. Niedrigere Temperatur und hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit unterstützen den regenerierenden Effekt.


Temperatur: 70°C | Luftfeuchtigkeit: 30% | Empfohlene Dauer: 15–20 Min.

Yoga-Kurse

Unsere Yoga-Kurse mit wechselnden Themen erfreuen sich immer größerer Beliebtheit. Die Kurse finden montags in der Zeit von 17.30 bis 17.55 Uhr und von 18.00 bis 18.25 Uhr im oberen Ruheraum mit Blick auf den Dom statt und sind kostenlos. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich. Die wechselnden Themen werden an den jeweiligen Tagen bekanntgegeben.

Erdwallsauna

Die Erdwallsauna ist der wärmste Ort in der Claudius Therme und einer der gemütlichsten: durch Kaminfeuer beleuchtet, umgibt sie den Besucher mit einer wohligen Atmosphäre. Die verhältnismäßig hohen Temperaturen sind aufgrund der geringen Luftfeuchtigkeit sehr gut verträglich.

Temperatur: 90–100°C | Luftfeuchtigkeit: 10% | Empfohlene Dauer: 10–15 Min.

Banja

Das traditionelle Badehaus der Russen: Die ursprüngliche Waschgelegenheit in russischen Dörfern entwickelte sich zum beliebten Erholungsort. Unsere Banja stammt originalgetreu aus Sibirien und wurde hier im Saunadorf samt Kiefernstämmen und Taigamoos wieder aufgestellt. Im sibirischen Badehaus wird Birkenwasser verdampft, das durch seine heilenden Eigenschaften eine äußerst wohltuende Wirkung auf Haut und Körper hat. Niedrigere Temperatur und hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit unterstützen den regenerierenden Effekt.


Temperatur: 70°C | Luftfeuchtigkeit: 30% | Empfohlene Dauer: 15–20 Min.

Yoga-Kurse

Unsere Yoga-Kurse mit wechselnden Themen erfreuen sich immer größerer Beliebtheit. Die Kurse finden montags in der Zeit von 17.30 bis 17.55 Uhr und von 18.00 bis 18.25 Uhr im oberen Ruheraum mit Blick auf den Dom statt und sind kostenlos. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich. Die wechselnden Themen werden an den jeweiligen Tagen bekanntgegeben.

Erdwallsauna

Die Erdwallsauna ist der wärmste Ort in der Claudius Therme und einer der gemütlichsten: durch Kaminfeuer beleuchtet, umgibt sie den Besucher mit einer wohligen Atmosphäre. Die verhältnismäßig hohen Temperaturen sind aufgrund der geringen Luftfeuchtigkeit sehr gut verträglich.

Temperatur: 90–100°C | Luftfeuchtigkeit: 10% | Empfohlene Dauer: 10–15 Min.

Serailbad

Ideal für Schönheitspflege, Stoffwechsel und Entschlackung. Ihre Haut wird weich und geschmeidig. Angeleitet durch einen Mitarbeiter tragen Sie in dem warmen Kachelbad zuerst die entschlackende Packung auf. Es folgt ein ca. 25-minütiges Kräuter-Dampfbad: während Sie einen Tee genießen, erhält die Packung durch den Dampf ihre geschmeidige Konsistenz. Sie können Ihren Körper in kreisenden Bewegungen massieren und so ein hervorragendes Peeling bewirken. Nach dem Abduschen reiben Sie sich mit einem reichhaltigen Hautöl ein. Sie haben die Wahl zwischen Seraibad Classic (13 €) und Serailbad Premium (18 €).

Kelosauna

Dieses traditionelle Saunahaus wurde aus bis zu 800 Jahre alten Kelostämme errichtet. Der eigentliche Saunaraum erstreckt sich großzügig über drei Ebenen rund um einen mächtigen Keramiksaunaofen und hat eine angenehme Hitze. Zusätzlich finden Sie in diesem finnischen Saunahaus eine kleine Sitzgrotte und ein Kaminzimmer.

Temperatur: 70–80°C | Luftfeuchtigkeit: 20% | Empfohlene Dauer: 10–15 Min.

Damensauna

Eine exklusive Damensauna finden Sie in der Finnnischen Sauna I im Innenbereich unserer Saunaanlage. Hier möchten wir Frauen die Möglichkeit bieten, ganz ungestört den Saunabesuch zu genießen.

Serailbad

Ideal für Schönheitspflege, Stoffwechsel und Entschlackung. Ihre Haut wird weich und geschmeidig. Angeleitet durch einen Mitarbeiter tragen Sie in dem warmen Kachelbad zuerst die entschlackende Packung auf. Es folgt ein ca. 25-minütiges Kräuter-Dampfbad: während Sie einen Tee genießen, erhält die Packung durch den Dampf ihre geschmeidige Konsistenz. Sie können Ihren Körper in kreisenden Bewegungen massieren und so ein hervorragendes Peeling bewirken. Nach dem Abduschen reiben Sie sich mit einem reichhaltigen Hautöl ein. Sie haben die Wahl zwischen Seraibad Classic (13 €) und Serailbad Premium (18 €).

Kelosauna

Dieses traditionelle Saunahaus wurde aus bis zu 800 Jahre alten Kelostämme errichtet. Der eigentliche Saunaraum erstreckt sich großzügig über drei Ebenen rund um einen mächtigen Keramiksaunaofen und hat eine angenehme Hitze. Zusätzlich finden Sie in diesem finnischen Saunahaus eine kleine Sitzgrotte und ein Kaminzimmer.

Temperatur: 70–80°C | Luftfeuchtigkeit: 20% | Empfohlene Dauer: 10–15 Min.

Damensauna

Eine exklusive Damensauna finden Sie in der Finnnischen Sauna I im Innenbereich unserer Saunaanlage. Hier möchten wir Frauen die Möglichkeit bieten, ganz ungestört den Saunabesuch zu genießen.

Unsere Aufgüsse

Salz- und Honig-Aufguss

In unserer Kelo-Sauna bieten wir Salz- und Honig-Aufgüsse an, dabei werden ätherische Essenzen aufgegossen. Der Honigsaufguss verwöhnt die Haut. Nach einer kurzen Vorwärmphase reiben Sie den Körper mit Bienenhonig ein. Der Honig wirkt hautreinigend, -straffend und –nährend, der Stoffwechsel wird angeregt. Wenn Sie sich für das Salz entscheiden, wird der Körper mit grobem Mineralsalz vom Toten Meer abgerieben. Dieser Abrieb hat eine desinfizierende, schweiß-treibende und entschlackende Wirkung. Die grobe Körnung des Salzes bewirkt ein Peeling des Körpers. Nach dem Aufguss können Sie sich mit einem Eisabrieb erfrischen.

Ort: Kelosauna (Sauadorf) | Dauer: 15–20 Min.

Der Früchteaufguss

Eine gesunde, fruchtige Erfrischung gibt es nach diesem Aufguss. Vitamine und Spurenelemente geben einen erneuten Energieschub. Anschließend wird bei Bedarf zur belebenden Kühlung Scherbeneis zum Abrieb gereicht.

Ort: Rosensauna (Rosenterrassen) | Dauer: 12 Min.

Der Wellnessaufguss

Dieser Aufguss ist für unsere weiblichen Gäste besonders sanft und entspannend. Bei gemäßigten 80°C werden vorwiegend fruchtig frische Düfte aufgegossen, sanftes Wedeln und leise Entspannungsmusik untermalen diesen milden Aufguss (Aus organisatorischen Gründen können wir den Wellnessaufguss nicht nur von weiblichen Mitarbeiterinnen durchführen lassen).

Ort: Rosensauna (Rosenterrassen) | Dauer: 10–12 Min.

Der Wenikaufguss

Mit einem Birkenreisigbüschel wird Birkenwasser auf den heißen Steinen verteilt. Dabei entfaltet sich das wunderbare Aroma der Birkenblätter und erfüllt die Banja mit ihrem typischen Wohlgeruch. Durch die hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und die relativ milde Temperatur wird dieser Aufguss zu einem außergewöhnlichen Erlebnis.

Ort: Banja (Saunadorf) | Dauer: 15 Min.

Banja-Ritual

In der 1. Phase des Banja-Rituals wird Ihnen mit einem Bund Birkenreisig, dem „Wenik“, warme Luft zugefächelt. Es folgt eine Abkühlungsphase mit sibirischem Tee. Beim nächsten Saunagang wird Ihr Körper mit dem Wenik sanft abgeklopft. Ein Eisabrieb beschließt diesen Durchgang. Die letzte Phase dient dann Ihrer Entspannung: sanft werden Sie mit dem Wenik abgerieben. Abschließend sollten Sie zur Abkühlung im Freien umhergehen, kalt duschen und sich dann eine Ruhepause gönnen.

Ort: Banja (Saunadorf) | Dauer: ca. 60 Min. | Täglich um 20 Uhr

Preis: 16,00 € p. P inkl. Bereitstellung eines Saunatuchs

Anmeldung nur an der Gastronomie im Bad.

Der Ayurvedische Ölzauber

Der Ölzauber ist eine kleine Gruppenzeremonie im Serailbad. Zu Beginn werden Ihnen verschiedene Öle gereicht, welche nach dem Einreiben schnell in die Haut einziehen. Während Sie einen heißen Tee genießen, werden Sie in aromatischen Dampf gehüllt. Nach 10–15 Minuten Bedampfung beginnen Sie, das Öl langsam wieder auszuschwitzen. Die Haut wird so auf sanfte Art gereinigt und gepflegt. Mehrere Wedelrunden und ein erfrischender Kneippguss am Ende der Zeremonie beseitigen Ölrückstände und bringen Ihren Kreislauf in Schwung.

Ort: Serailbad (Saunadorf) | Dauer: ca. 20 Min. | Preis: 4,00 € p. P.

Anmeldung nur an der Gastronomie im Bad.

Der Osmanische Aufguss

Erleben Sie diesen einzigartigen Aufguss im wunderschönen Serailbad. Nachdem wohltuender Dampf mit ätherischen Ölen zugeführt wurde, reicht Ihnen unser Mitarbeiter eine reichhaltige Kaffeecreme als intensive Peeling- und Feuchtigkeitsmixtur, mit der Sie den Körper einreiben. Mehrere Wedelrunden und erfrischender Kneippguss runden diesen Aufguss ab. Die Haut erhält Mineral-, Sauerstoffzufuhr und Peeling, die Abwehrkräfte werden gestärkt.

Ort: Serailbad (Innenbereich) | Dauer: 15 Min.

Anmeldung nur an der Saunabar